The Sound of Failure

I didn’t make it. I really REALLY tried, but just couldn’t. I managed to chug out a little over 2000 words, but that wasn’t even close to the goal. It is really frustrating when I would have a thought and actually sit down to write and some crisis would happen with the kids and the moment was gone. There were many hours I just sat at the computer, or with a notebook and pencil, and just stared. Nothing would come to mind. Not even bad dialog. Nothing. Just…blank.There were many many times I just sat at the computer and wanted to sob.

But, that is ok. I tried and anything I churned out wouldn’t have been read-worthy anyway. It was an exercise for me to try to flex long dormant writing muscles. With how my kids treated me, I am actually surprised I got as far as I did. I also got DH into the spirit. He had more words than I did, but still didn’t make the mark. Life kept getting in the way and we aren’t in a position to just throw it all to the wind just yet. We will try next year though.

Maybe in the future I can get the kids into it as well and we call all be writing…that may be the only way I can get any writing done…unless I ship them off Timbuktu…

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Entertainment, Fun, NaNoWriMo, Writing

One response to “The Sound of Failure

  1. You were productive that is all that matters! Focus on the good not the bad!