Moody & Broody

Been thinking a lot lately. A dangerous thing, but something I do often enough. I have been thinking about what I need to write. Beating myself up mentally for not posting more in my story blog. Beating myself up mentally for not posting more to THIS one.

As it stands I find a lot of things I would like to blog about during the day but ultimately life gets in the way and when I sit down to write I have forgotten what I wanted to say. I keep saying I am going to get a little recorder so I can just say it in that and type it later.

Anyway.

I also have a bad habit of copying words and phrases that people put on the internet, usually in the form of comments and often anonymous, that get me thinking about things. The bad part of that is I usually forget to copy the link so I have no clue where I got it from. Here is one of them:

An old Cherokee told his grandson, “My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies, & ego. The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy, & truth.” The boy thought about it, and asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?” The old man quietly replied, “The one you feed.”

I don’t really know where that came from, but it got me to thinking. With my own mental blocks and issues as well as others that I know, this is an important lesson. The more we dwell on anger and resentment and how the grass is greener somewhere else, the more that wolf will consume us.

Children Walking on Trail

Image by vastateparksstaff via Flickr

BUT…I am not nearly done. I found these today as well (and I DO have the link for these!) :

Make no apologies or explanations for what you want, and let the unknown faces dislike or distrust you. Study your fear of leaving bad impressions, and practice doing what you want anyway. I bet you’ll become not just more comfortable, but more likable.

Who doesn’t struggle with this one? We are taught from an early age (esp if you are a girl) that we have to be nice and make other people happy. Even TV teaches it. I love some of Podling’s shows, especially Kai-Lan, but many of them are centered around “social skills” and teach them that if your friend is unhappy you need to find out why and try to make them happy. This bothers me a great deal since I want my kids to feel that their own wants and needs are just as valid as everyone else’s.

Slowly but surely in my adult life I have cared less and less about what people think of me. Usually the people that think badly of me aren’t really people I care to have in my life anyway. I don’t follow most traditional norms of womanhood…I love playing video games, hate buying shoes and clothes and shopping in general. My hair stays in a pony tail and I haven’t bought makeup in years. I wear sweats most of the day in the winter and cut off sweats or equivalent in the summer with t-shirts and tank tops. I have one pair of dress shoes and my sneaks and flip flops. As long as I am clean I really don’t care if everyone thinks I am a fashion disaster…I am comfy and I would like to think I am more interesting than the shoes that I buy.

You can’t have wars without strangers.

I often wondered if teaching my kids the ole’ “don’t talk to strangers” schtick was a good thing. Kids are VERY literal and if they need help and you beat into them that you can’t talk to strangers they will be hesitant to ask others for help. Maybe a better idea would be to counsel them to come and get you if someone they don’t know is trying to get them to go with them or something. After all, there are quite a few stories of perfect strangers helping parents and kids.

In direct relation to the quote above…this is true. It is easy to hate someone you have no clue who they are, what they are, what they believe in, so forth. Instead of jumping on the hate bandwagon, maybe we need to be talking to more strangers.

Comments Off on Moody & Broody

Filed under Life

Comments are closed.