Our First Loves

From the Velveteen Rabbit: 
“Real isn’t how you are made” said the Skin Horse. “It’s a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long time, not just to play with , but REALLY loves you, then you become Real….Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real, you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.

Today I came across a blog post over at The Good Men Project talking about kids and their loveys. The post is actually talking about this post on yet another blog (with pictures!) about the same thing. After reading these things, it got me to thinking of my own children and their precious loveys. While I have heard of some people forcefully taking kids loveys away, I always thought that it was cruel in some shape form or fashion. TGMP makes a point:

“…what is the point of an excellent education if we have never learned how to love or care for someone or something else?”

So, in the spirit of the topic I have captured mine (yes, at 35 years old I still have my loveys!), and my kids beloved loveys in picture form.

Babyhead's Moo Cow turned into a Jedi thanks to Build a Bear

My father bought Moo Cow for Babyhead for his first Christmas. Once white and shiny, Moo Cow finally lost his bell around 2yrs and he has been getting rattier and rattier since. Babyhead still insists on sleeping with him at night, though he is willing to leave him here when he goes to the G’rents for the weekend.  We spent the last of his allowance getting MC his own Jedi costume from Build a Bear Workshop. We think he looks pretty smart in his Jedi robes. Moo Cow is every parents nightmare…we haven’t found another one like him anywhere so we have to be very careful where he goes and what he does!

Polding's Banket

This is Podling’s lovey. I am not sure why she took to this old blanket, but she won’t go to sleep without it most times. We actually got it at a rummage sale in a bag of other blankets and sheets when my son was born. Luckily I had two so I am able to alternate between a clean and dirty one. She knows she has two and is more than willing to let me wash one while she has the other one.

My Uni - From The Last Unicorn - Poor thing has had his neck loved crooked.

My beloved Uni. I was (and still am) obsessed with “The Last Unicorn” and I got this around the time it came out I assume. The tag used to say “The Last Unicorn” but after almost 30 years it has faded. His mane and tail are long since gone from washing and his neck is all crooked and sideways…doesn’t stop me from loving him any less.

One of the things that DH and I talk about is what will happen to Moo Cow and Banket when the kids are older. Toy Story 3 really brought home a lot of emotions surrounding these things. Would they choose to take Moo Cow and Banket with them when they leave the nest and venture out into the world, or will they be forgotten in the attic one day?  I guess we will just have to wait and see.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Kids, Life, Love, Motherhood

2 responses to “Our First Loves

  1. Xan doesn’t really have a lovey. He’s only taken a soft toy to bed a handful of times and prefers instead to choose a different car each night which he keeps in his hand as he sleeps – LOL!

    • LOL Lucky! There have been many a midnight search for MC or Banket. If they happen to go to sleep without them they always wake up in the middle of the night wanting them! You never know. He may never need a lovey and then again maybe he just hasn’t come across that one special thing. Who knows why they choose what they do. 🙂