2 Points

Writing

Image via Wikipedia

When I was a senior in high school, we had to write a thesis about pretty much anything we wanted. For some reason I chose to base mine on vampires and more than once I regretted it. It seems that there really is very little actual information on vampires. I remember going to the school library reference section and finding books with short little paragraphs about the old folk legends. There was precious little information for a multiple page thesis.

Be that as it may, I saw it as a challenge. This was the topic I chose and I was determined to write an insightful thesis on it. At this point I want to remind you that this was back in 1994…computers weren’t common in the home at that time and the Internet even less so. I had to do my research the old fashioned way-in the library.

After many long hours and cramped hands, I churned out my thesis. I can’t remember how long it was (or how long it was supposed to be), I just remember I was proud of my work. I remember smiling when I was done and feeling very accomplished and satisfied in turning what little bit of information I had into a report. When I received my paper back from my teacher (after all these years, I cannot remember his name) I was even more satisfied that my final score was a 98%…an A. As I looked through my thesis to find out where those other 2 points went, I realized I had forgotten to underline some of the sources in my bibliography. Awesome! I thought, since that meant that the thesis, itself, held up to the scrutiny of my English teacher.

At least, I thought it was awesome until I got home. I remember letting my mom know how proud of myself I was that I had written such a great paper. She promptly shot me down. My mother proceeded to give me a disappointed look and scolded me saying, “You should have gotten a 100%.” Well, yea, I should have. But it was a simple oversight that I didn’t intend to repeat. That didn’t matter. She was disappointed. The thesis wasn’t good enough. It didn’t measure up. I was junk.

Maybe in her mind she was trying to build me up in some way and make me realize my potential…but all it really did is make me realize how inadequate I was and maybe forever be. This one thing has stuck with me all these years. Now, at 35 years old, I have a hard time believing anything I do is worth while and will hold up. Everything I do isn’t good enough.

Now, I struggle to feel adequate at anything. I am constantly questioning my own worth. As I write, there is a little voice in the back of my mind telling me that it is somehow not good enough so why bother? There will be some little thing wrong that will make someone throw my story in the fire. That anything I create, writing or otherwise, will only be worth 98%.

I am still trying to get those 2 points.

4 Comments

Filed under Depression, Education, Family, Life, Mental Illness

4 responses to “2 Points

  1. I’m so sorry that you had to feel like that. But please know, it wasn’t YOU who wasn’t good enough – it was your mother. She let you down badly and got nowhere near 98%! Fact is, she was probably jealous and the only way she could make herself feel better was to try and make you feel bad about yourself and your accomplishment. You are an awesome person and worth so much more than that!

    On a side note, coincidentally, in the final year of my high school, I did a media studies class during which I had to produce a piece of media on a subject of my chosing. I did a mockumentary on the representation of vampires in film through the ages. Sounds like we would have hit it off even in high school. Would you believe, I got 98% in that class too? 😉

    • Thanks! I am in the process of trying to undo all that baggage in my head. It is a long, hard process though!

      LOL Kell! That’s funny! Maybe we’re spirit twins! LOL

  2. I can relate. My parents always said things like why can’t you do that all the time. It wasn’t until I graduated with my Masters that my mom actually gave me an unconditional compliment. She said that always meant for those comments to encourage me to do better.

    • Dee…my mom has yet to give me an unconditional compliment. Even when I graduated with my Assoc. Degree…I didn’t even get a card congratulating me.