Dear News Websites,

While I realize that using an Adobe Flash presentation for your website is really cool and you can do a lot of stuff with it (especially with advertisements), I am getting really sick of having to constantly wait for things to load especially when it is due to poor coding (that sometimes make the browser crash, no matter what browser I am using).  I have a decent pc and a high speed connection, yet I am constantly having to wait for something to load when I want to read one of your stories. This of course, is not to even mention that I do not like only being able to read a small paragraph at a time and having to scroll or click through to more information. The very least you can do is let me read a good portion before having to click through or scroll.

Do any of you remember the movie Jurassic Park?  In in Dr. Malcolm remarks to Mr. Hammond, “your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn’t stop to think if they should.”  This is you in a nutshell.  It is like using animated gifs, at some point it will be distracting and no one will want to read your content.

So, I would like to plead with those of you who make these decisions to rethink the flash only web pages.  While they look flashy and are easy to insert advertisements and deter people from plagiarism, they make it quite difficult to enjoy your articles, much less pay for any content or click on an ad.

Thank you,

Gamermomma

2 Comments

Filed under Internet, Life

2 responses to “Dear News Websites,

  1. You have been awarded the Stylish Blogger Award by Kell at Diary of a Domestic Goddess. See here for details:
    http://wp.me/pFyoG-BW