I’m Readin’ a Book…

I haven’t read this yet as I am still working on “World War Z” and “Women Who Run with the Wolves” (which I think little hands have carted off somewhere since I can’t find it).  However, here are the most recent additions to my library and I am totally looking forward to reading them!

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead by Mark Twain and Don Borchert – I read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer years ago when in Elementary school and LOVED it.  When I saw this take on one of Mark Twain’s classics I had to buy it!  I think this one is going to be read next when I finish World War Z.

 

 

 

 

Little Women and Werewolves by Louisa May Alcott and Porter Grand – I have to admit I never read the book Little Women, I did see the movie (which I am sure doesn’t do the book justice) and I did like the show.  I am not sure what I think about Winona Rider in it, but anyway.  When I saw this take on an old classic, like Tom Sawyer, I had to get it.  I already know the basic premise of the original story, so I am excited to see how they changed it and added the werewolves.

 

 

The Color Purple by Alice Walker – Again, another book I have only seen the movie of, I thought that this was a perfect opportunity to read the story.  The movie was amazing and still gives me shivers when I watch it.  I am hoping the book lives up to it since it was here first. So many horrible things happen in the basic story that I am scared to read it for what they may have left out of the movie-but at the same time I believe that is what makes for a good story.  What good is a story if it doesn’t invoke strong emotions?

 

 

 

The Divine Comedy by Dante

The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe

The Arabian Nights by Sir Richard F. Burton

This is actually part of a collection of books offered by Barnes and Noble. They also have available a few other volumes that go with it such as Alice in Wonderland, however at $20 a piece we have to buy them one at a time.  We hope to get the entire collection before they stop offering them.

 

And of course, last but not least one for the kids. Runaway Ralph by Beverly Cleary. I always liked Beverly Cleary‘s books and remember reading about Ralph the Mouse and Ramona in school.  Now Babyhead enjoys Ralph like I did and I look forward to reading Ramona to Podling!

Comments Off on I’m Readin’ a Book…

Filed under Books, Entertainment, Reading

Comments are closed.