Completely Speechless…Ok not so much

When I read something in the news or hear something someone else has said that I do not agree with, I usually just shake my head and maybe complain a bit to DH and then just go about my daily business.  However, occasionally I hear or see a theme over and over again and it just slowly raises my blood pressure to the point I want to just explode.

I am sure by now you know where this is going.

I used to read a lot of feminist and fat acceptance websites.  I had to stop because almost all they reported on was negative things and there is only so much a mind can take.  In an effort to not spout anger at every turn, I had to stop reading them on a regular basis.  In general it makes me angry and frustrated that there are so many people in the world who think that unless you look/act/dress/talk/have same moral values as they do that you don’t even deserve to live.  There is a lot of hatred and anger in the world and the only way to NOT take that into my own heart is to avoid a lot of it.

However, occasionally something will pop up in traditional news outlets or websites that just boils my blood.  I don’t click on the articles intending to get angry, I click on them for the same reasons that everyone else does…a catchy headline makes them want to learn more.  So it was with this story.

I clicked on this story mainly because I was wondering where Uzbek was as I had never really heard of it before.  It turns out that the story is actually about GULISTAN, Uzbekistan.  Just in case any of you have never heard of it either, here is what Wikipedia says about it:

Click for larger view

Uzbekistan, officially the Republic of Uzbekistan is one of the six independent Turkic states. It is a doubly landlocked country in Central Asia, formerly part of the Soviet Union. It shares borders with Kazakhstan to the west and to the north, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan to the east, and Afghanistan and Turkmenistan to the south.

Now that the location is cleared up, I will get to what got me boiling mad.  The article talks about how the government is sterilizing women without consent and sometimes without their knowledge.  The idea being that they want to curb the population growth and therefore keep down civic unrest due to shortages of jobs/food/etc.

I get that, I do.  They want to make everyone’s life easier in a sense and their jobs easier.  I don’t, however, agree with how they are doing it.  In one case a woman had to have a c-section and during which they took out part of her uterus therefore rendering her sterile.  The premise was she had a cyst that needed to be removed.  Her son was born prematurely and died a short time later.  She will never be able to have children again due to this surgery.

Then I came across this little snippet:

Human rights advocates and doctors say autocratic President Islam Karimov this year ramped up a sterilization campaign he initiated in the late 1990s. In a decree issued in February, the Health Ministry ordered all medical facilities to “strengthen control over the medical examination of women of childbearing age.”

(emphasis mine)

This is what pisses me off.  I understand that they want to curb the population, like China.  There are only so many resources to go around.  I will admit also that I am not sure what the best way to go about doing that is…but I do know it is wrong to target only women.  What about the men getting the women pregnant?

I am sick to death of women being targeted just because we have vaginas.  It is all over the world.  According to a great many people. in order to help the world women need to be controlled.  These people want to control us by non-consensual medical procedures, to how we dress as not to “tempt” men, to shaming women who have sex and children out of wedlock.

Yet not ONE religion, organization, or government entity says that MEN need to take responsibility for their own actions.  Very few voices are heard and when those that feel that men do need to keep it zipped and voice their opinions they are labeled as crazy feminists (if you are female) or emasculated pussies or homosexual (if you are male).

Instead of involuntarily sterilizing women, maybe they need to educate them about birth control and also educate men on birth control as well.  They are offering free/reduced cost “surgical contraception” (tubal ligation, etc.) to women, but what about the men??  Are they going to offer vasectomies to men?

I think the world in general needs a biology lesson in what exactly how children are created.  It takes a male human to impregnate a female human.  Females cannot do it by themselves.  Female humans do carry the resulting offspring in their bodies, but ultimately it is the male human that makes that possible.

We really need to stop putting the onus of controlling the world’s ills solely on women.  Men have a responsibility too.

/rant

2 Comments

Filed under Civil Liberties, Health, Internet, News, Vent, Women, Women's Rights

2 responses to “Completely Speechless…Ok not so much

  1. vesta44

    I totally agree with you on this one. It takes two to make a baby and men have just as much responsibility as women do when it comes to reproduction. It’s about time they started stepping up and taking their share of the burden instead of placing it all on women.