It’s pizza…in a muffin.

In an effort to get my kids to eat more we recently purchased a cookbook for kids.  The recipes in it are great and I am looking forward to trying them out.  The book gave a generic/basic muffin recipe from scratch and then a few different variations on how to do them.  Today’s experiment was the Pizza Muffin.  It was actually easier than I had expected.  Many other scratch recipes I have tried were a pain the patootie, so I was happy this one was extremely simple.

After baking I gave one to the spawn to try…Podling didn’t really eat any, her usual M.O.  Babyhead had a half of one which was actually more than I expected him to eat.  He is very resistant to anything new.  DH had one after work and said that they were good, though they would be better as minis instead.  I will confess, I didn’t try one because the pepperoni would make my tummy ill…I will say that they smell awesome.

So, there it is.  The beginning of our adventures in food.  We are going to try black bean burgers tonight as our vegetarian dinner night.  Will later on how that went!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Fun

4 responses to “It’s pizza…in a muffin.

  1. i think i delurked today for the first time if I am not mistaken but read it regularlt

  2. oh they seem so yum can u share the recipe

    • Sure!

      Pizza Muffins

      (basic muffin recipe)
      2cups Self-rising flour
      1/3 cup of sugar
      1cup milk
      1/4 cup veg. oil
      1 large egg

      Add the following for pizza muffins
      about 40 pepperoni slices
      1cup shredded sharp cheddar
      1/4 tsp Garlic powder
      Grated Parmesan cheese

      -Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F)
      -Stir* together flour, sugar, garlic, cheddar in bowl. Cut pepperoni slices into quarters and add to mixture. Create a well in center with a spoon.
      -Whisk* together milk, oil and egg in separate bowl until well blended. Pour into well in flour mixture. Stir until just moistened.
      -Spoon batter into lightly greased muffin pan filling 3/4 of the way full. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top of muffins.
      -Bake at 400 for 18 minutes or until golden brown.
      -Invert onto wire rack. Serve warm.
      -Makes 1 Dozen regular sized muffins.

      NOTE: For plain muffins to experiment with, just omit the parts with the pizza ingredients. For example, for Carrot and raisin muffins, do not add the pizza ingredients (obviously! LOL) and add 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup shredded carrots and 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg into flour mixture before making well for milk mixture.

      I do have the nutrition info if anyone is interested. Just let me know.