What is it with tech support?

Now…I will say that I really do like Blizzard as far as the company goes.  I really do like World of Warcraft too.  With that said…twice I have had to open a support ticket and twice they have treated me as if I was a noob and not help AT ALL.

When Wrath of the Lich King came out I did like all other WoWaholics and went to Northrend to do the quests and grind my way to level 80.  There was one quest that I couldn’t finish for the life of me.  It was glitched where when I completed the requested task it never showed as completed.  I figured it was just a bug and they would get it fixed. I would drop the quest and try it again.

Fast forward a few months.  DH and I decided to suspend out accounts for a time and take a break.  A few months later I started my account back up and began the slow grind to 80 like before.  I only had a few more levels to go, but I thought I would give that one quest a try again.  It still didn’t work, even though I had completed the quest with another character.  I was doing it correctly, but for some reason my warrior ‘toon was bugged.

I open a ticket.  Spell it out for them.  Let them know that I did, in fact, complete the quest with another character so I know I was doing the correct thing…but for some reason with my gnome it wouldn’t work.  I get a reply back saying the quests were working and that GM’s (game masters) can’t give out hints or solutions to quests.  I would have to look in the forums for user information.

Wow.  That really helped to not solve my problem at all.  I dropped the quest and figured that would just be one quest I wouldn’t be able to complete.

Fast forward to today.  A friend of mine who is also in my guild and I were online and decided to talk via the voice chat feature.  Keep in mind that I created the voice chat channel and knew exactly how to turn everything on or off.  For whatever reason I couldn’t join the channel.  I tried turning things off then back on.  I did a microphone test and that actually worked…but I could not get the channel to work.  For some reason it wouldn’t recognize my mic.  I asked my friend and he had the same issue so I even tried creating a new channel.  Still a no go.  So…I open a ticket.

This is what I get back:

Greetings,

Thank you for contacting the World of Warcraft Technical
Support Department.

Issue Reported: Voice chat is not working.
It is turned on.  I tested my mic and it worked,
but I cannot join any channels.  It isn't showing
the speaker icon for me to join.

After some research, we have verified that voice chat is
currently functioning. If you are still having issues
please follow the instructions below and reply to this
email to let us know whether your issue has been resolved.
After some research, we have verified that voice chat is
 currently functioning. If you are still having issues
please follow the instructions below and reply to this
email to let us know whether your issue has been resolved.

You can view the Voice Chat FAQ's at:
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=
942815291&sid=1
and for more updates
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=
1272012664&sid=1

To activate voice chat, you will need to go into
the options menu under Sound & Voice and select the
Enable Voice chat option to enable it. Volume sliders
are available for the microphone, speakers, and game-audio
fade (which automatically lowers the game audio when a
voice communication is received), as is a "push-to-talk"
setting. Right-clicking on a player's name now includes
the option to mute or unmute that player. Muting another
player blocks all voice chat from him or her; the ignore
feature will block both voice chat and text chat from
that player.

Walkthroughs for setting up Voice chat can be found here:
Mac: http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/21525
Windows Vista: http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/21526
Windows XP: http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/21527

Voice chat is currently available for Groups, Raids and
Custom channels, other channels may be added in future.
These Voice chat options can also be limited by Parental
control settings available from your account page at
http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account
Please note that for voice chat, an SSE
enabled CPU (or newer) is required.

Please feel free to peruse our Technical
Support website located at
(http://us.blizzard.com/support/index.xml?gameId=11).
Should your issue continue, please reply directly to
this email and we will be happy to assist you further.

If you need more immediate assistance, please feel
free to contact us by calling 1-949-955-1382 between
8am and 8pm Pacific time, 7 days a week, or by using
our web form located at
(http://us.blizzard.com/support/webform-us.xml?gameId=11).

Thank you again for contacting us.
We appreciate your patience and understanding
during this time and hope you continue to enjoy your
experience in World of Warcraft! Should your issue
persist, please do not hesitate to reply to this message.

Sincerely,

In-Game Technical Support
Blizzard Entertainment
www.blizzard.com

So, yes, they did say I could contact them if this above didn’t work.  However, if they had read my report they would have known I already turned it on and checked the settings.  Again, barely skimming the report and assuming I really don’t know what I am doing.

Really guys.  Pay attention to what people are telling you.  I realize that many people probably really haven’t tried what they needed to or just potentially wasting GM’s time…but not everyone is like that.  Some of us have a legit problem and telling us to do what we already told you we did is kinda counter productive.

Comments Off on What is it with tech support?

Filed under Entertainment, Games, Gaming, World of Warcraft

Comments are closed.