I Wonder…

  • If people would still feel that Polanski should be left alone, that he had “suffered” enough if he had raped a boy.
  • If people would still feel that Polanski should be left alone, that he had “suffered” enough if he had murdered the 13 year old girl.
  • If people would still feel that Polanski should be left alone, that he had “suffered” enough if he wasn’t famous and made movies.
  • Why people think is he above the law because he makes movies.

I think it is curious that people are willing to allow Polanski to go free and forget that he raped a 13 year old girl and yet if another pedophile and decided to move into their neighborhood, a pedophile that also raped a 13 year old girl, they would do everything in their power to run him out of town.

I think people are forgetting a few things:

  • Roman Polanski is not above the law, regardless of what he did.
  • Roman Polanski broke the law, not once, but twice.  He raped someone then left the country before he could be sentenced and pay for his crime.

I disagree that he “suffered enough”.  He was able to move about freely and do what and who he wanted, eat steaks and caviar, watch movies, make movies, and make  lots and lots of money that he never gave to his victim as a recompense.

He broke the law. He needs to be punished.  Case closed.

RELATED:

Kate Harding on Polanski

3 Comments

Filed under Abuse, Civil Liberties, News, Women, Women's Rights

3 responses to “I Wonder…

  1. I enjoyed this a lot. I really like your style here. Added to my Google Reader. Peace – larz

    • cheflarz

      BTW, I was going to order a shirt from Zazzel but needed a credit card even with my pay pal account. Unfortunately I didn’t have that info at the time but will go back and get it I promise. It’s perrrrfect for my mom. Big cat face. 🙂 Again, love the blog.

      • That sucks! I don’t control that, unfortunately. That is all up to Zazzle and how they do their business. 😦 Thanks for trying though!