Sometimes I Wonder

Why the posts that I truly think about and put a lot of effort into and post get almost no comments or views…yet the ones that I am just venting or write off the top of my head just to write something always gets comments…and usually asinine ones.

I wonder what makes people want to respond to something that I probably forgot about as soon as I hit PUBLISH and say something stupid, mean, or just doesn’t make any sense.  Most of these comments don’t make it out of moderation because I just don’t want a lot of tripe on my blog that I would have to look at every time I logged in.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy debating things and honest discussion…but the things that I would think would get some rise out of someone doesn’t…while the venting I occasionally do here does.  It really doesn’t make any sense to me.  Why should my opinion about a TV show matter a lot to people but my opinion about religion doesn’t?

Fascinating.

Truly Fascinating.

I want to clarify that I am not mad about anything…just curious why this is so.  I got another comment today that really made no sense on a post that was just one of those thoughts/vents that hit me on a bad day.  It struck me as being sarcastic, but at the same time it could have been an honest acknowledgment…but the more I read it the more it just didn’t make any sense…it was kind of roundabout and redundant so I didn’t approve it and once again it was just some random person who came to my blog looking for something and didn’t leave a website or anything.  I think maybe they meant something else but didn’t proofread before hitting submit…so whatever their point, it got lost.

So, in a (maybe futile?) effort to stop random people from just coming to my blog to post a one sentence comment that I can’t make heads nor tales of (and then never come back) I have changed the setting to allow only registered users.  I realize that people could still register and leave a comment, but most of these people aren’t or at least don’t bother logging in.  I really think they are just people that have one of my keywords pop up in their search engine when they are looking for something.

I have also made it where you can’t post on things that are over 90 days old.  My old posts about Nevus Sebaceous gets the most comments, and while I am glad people find the posts to help in their quest for information…I can’t give you anymore information that what has already been posted by myself or others in the comments section.

Happy Reading.

6 Comments

Filed under Blogs, Fun, General, Internet, Life

6 responses to “Sometimes I Wonder

  1. I’ve wondered the same thing. Some posts about really important things get no response.

    • *shrug* Amazing, isn’t it? But you talk about something stupid like hemorrhoids and you would probably get a ton of responses.

  2. Les

    I’ve been blogging for eight years and I couldn’t answer this question for you. I’ve commented upon it myself in the past. Posts I’ve spent hours working on will get a couple of replies, if any at all, and crap that’s three sentences long about farting will generate hundreds of replies.

    I’d like to think it’s the rock-solid logic of my arguments that keeps people from commenting on the more work-intensive entries, but I don’t know if that’s really true.

    • LOL Les…yea. Must be my rock-solid logic. I would think I would offend some people just for the fact that I have a different opinion…but I only seem to offend people when I am talking about Kids TV shows or just random thoughts in my head.

  3. I get a lot of asinine comments on my blog as well, and have thought of doing the same thing.

    • But you get a lot of people in general coming to your blog…I don’t. Not many people come here unless they are just commenting out of their ass.