Maybe some relief?

So, I went to the endocrinologist the other day.  I had to get blood work to make sure my gestational diabetes didn’t end up as regular diabetes.  While I was there I mentioned to her that I was clicking around on the internet (I know drs hate that!) and found that I had almost EVERY symptom of hypothyrodism.  I just thought they were all seperate problems…but could they be be part of a bigger picture?

Even though Dr. T had checked my thyroid while I was pregnant with Podling, she agreed to check it again.  I have to admit, I am scared that she is doing to say everything is still fine…I am not fine.  I am always tired, can almost never get enough sleep.  My hair comes out in clumps in the shower.  I am always cold…even if it is 80 degrees in the apartment…no to mention my bouts of depression and the fact that I can’t lose 1lb to save my life.  Part of me wants there to be just enough variation that she can give me a little pill and it just make everything better.

So, I am waiting for the test results.  I am going to see if she won’t work with me anyway even if my test comes back ok.  For so long I have just lived with these things thinking they were just a part of my life…it would be so nice to be able to fix them.

3 Comments

Filed under Depression, Health, Illness, Life, Mental Illness

3 responses to “Maybe some relief?

  1. I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism some years ago, after years and years of seeing doctors for just generally not feeling well. Surprisingly, none of the doctors even thought to check my thyroid levels, possibly because I have (luckily) never had a weight problem. It was only when it was so severe that I no longer had reflexes in my knees, that a Physician’s Assistant realized how dry my hair is, and mentioned it to him as a possibility. Within days I had the answer, and the solution.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you, that your solution is as simple as mine was.

    • Well, I went for the tests and I have to see her again on Monday. I like her a lot so I am hoping she is willing to take my word for it and work with me. I have a friend who technically wasn’t Hypthyriodism…she was just a few points away from the low end so the dr’s wouldn’t treat her. It took her a long time to get someone to listen to her…I am dreading that that is what is going to happen to me. I am “normal” but on the low side and just enough to screw me over…

  2. Nancy

    Hi. You really need to read this patient-to-patient website: http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com It tells how Endocrinologists always do the wrong tests, and that’s why they tell you that you’re normal, when you aren’t. They also put you on the worst medications like Synthroid. That’s why thyroid patients do not like Endo’s. They suck. I also got the book Stop the Thyroid Madness and it just changed my life. Good luck. I’ve been where you are. Now I’m on Armour, and I use the right tests and feel sooo much better. Nancy