The Spirit of Christmas

First off, I don’t want to blog about all the horrible happenings in India because there are already a ton of people blogging about it and talking about it.  It is a horrible thing and I am just as confused as everyone else…I just hope that it can end soon with more people alive than dead.

With that said I was doing my daily round of Internet News Reading when I came across this article that seems to perfectly sum up what Christmas means today:

NEW YORK – A worker died after being trampled by a throng of unruly shoppers when a suburban Wal-Mart opened for the holiday sales rush Friday, authorities said.

At least three other people were injured.

A police statement said shortly after 5 a.m., a throng of shoppers “physically broke down the doors, knocking (the worker) to the ground.” Police also said a 28-year-old pregnant woman was taken to a hospital for observation and three other shoppers suffered minor injuries and were also taken to hospitals.

This is what Christmas is today.  Christmas is about breaking down doors and killing people just to save a few bucks on a Wii or HD TV.  In today world where there are people starving, people who don’t even have an old coat to wear, there are those who are still so obsessed with shopping that they kill someone just to make it to a sale.

May I remind everyone that if you are celebrating Christmas for religious reasons then I don’t think Jesus would be to happy.  I would also like to remind those same people that GREED is a deadly sin.

If you sole purpose around the holidays is to take advantage of sales…I feel so sorry for you.  When you are on your death bed which would you rather have…an object(s) that can’t clothe or feed you or your family…or memories of happiness and joy that came with being home with your family and friends?

Yes, we buy gifts for Christmas.  I think about them all year what would make a person happy to receive.  But I don’t worry about sales because it isn’t about the money.  If I can’t afford it without a sale then have no business buying it.  If that same person would be just as happy with a batch of homemade cookies then why would I kill someone (literally) just to save a few bucks on something that was probably made in China anyway.

I am sick to death of all this greed around the holidays.  We aren’t religious…we celebrate as a way to spend some real quality time with family and friends.  Everyone usually has a few days off of work so we can actually spend time with them instead of trying to fit in quality time between work shifts.

So, in closing of my little rant here…think about what this time of year means to you.  Is it really so important that you buy an object on sale?  Or would your life and the life of your loved ones benefit more from a little quality time?  When you are dying and your life is flashing in front of your eyes which would you rather have?

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, News

5 responses to “The Spirit of Christmas

  1. The thing though, is that at least over here there are always articles and “experts” telling people NOT to give handmade anything as gifts! Can you believe it! I would think that a person would know a family member well enough to know if they would appreciate something hand made first off…and would hope that said family member would accept it in the spirit it was given (assuming it was given in the holiday spirit and not out of meaness…there is another post on that one…).

    I think it was just people trying to get a discount on TVs and the like. It is a shame. I later read that he died trying to shield a pregnant woman.

    What kills me and DH is that NO ONE bothered to stop and think “omg I am stepping on someone!” and then they got mad when asked to leave!

  2. It makes me sick to hear of things like this. Like you, I and my family are non-religious and the holidays are an excuse to make an extra-special effort to spend quality time together, as like many families, mine is spread out all over the place. I often include home-made gifts and they are often the ones most appreciated by friends and family who can see the thought, love and time that has gone into it. For example, in past years I have knit hats and scarves, made clutch bags, embroidered pillow cases with individual designs in colours to match bedroom decor, and filled beautiful bottles with massage oils created specially for each individual. Each time the recipients have been genuinely happy with the gift (I know them well enough to recognise their faking-it-faces – LOL!). We all have a very strict budget in the holidays and love finding inventive ways to surprise each other with something special. 🙂

  3. A few more details on the above story:

    Nassau County police said about 2,000 people were gathered outside the Wal-Mart store at the mall about 20 miles east of Manhattan. The impatient crowd knocked the man down as he opened the doors, leaving a metal portion of the frame crumpled like an accordion.

    Shoppers stepped over the 34-year-old man on the ground and streamed into the store. When told to leave, they complained that they had been in line since Thursday morning.

    Insensitive bastards.

  4. That is just so sad, especially at this time of year. I’m glad all of my shopping has been done for a couple of weeks now. I don’t do the sales, I buy all throughout the year just so I can avoid those crowds and the madness.

  5. syinly

    I saw the story about wal-mart on the news. I thought at first wow I ‘m glad they fired me this summer. I don’t live in New York. The story is sad.