Sometimes he does things and I just want to cry…

Saturday the ILs took Babyhead to see Madagascar 2.  While I enjoy sending him with the grandparents, I always get a bit nervous sending him.  It is a mom thing, I think, to not want your kid out of your sight.  It isn’t that I don’t trust them, I just can’t stand it when he isn’t around me.  Anyway…

They kept him all day and apparently he had a great time.  That was fine by me since DH and I were able to finish playing Halo 2 while he was gone, something we can never do with him around (he gets upset because he can’t play).  Not to mention the fact I had no desire to see Madagascar 2.

So, they bring him home around 7pm Saturday night.  Babyhead walks in with a HUGE grin on his face and hands me a plant.  SIL says that when they went to the grocery store before coming over Babyhead went straight to the flower department there and said he had to get mommy a new “planet” because they all died (the last of my Shefflera died this summer as well as the Lily’s I had because of the dang squirrels).  Needless to say he convinced them to buy me a “planet”.

I was so touched it was all I could do not to burst out in tears at his little almost-four-year-old-thoughtfulness.  He remembered I was upset about my plants dying and wanted to make it better.  It was one of the sweetest moments I have ever had as a mom.

The lesson here is this…never ever doubt that your kids are listening.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Inspiration, Kids, Life, Motherhood

3 responses to “Sometimes he does things and I just want to cry…

  1. Your child loves you so much. You are his world. Never doubt that. Enjoy his pure love for you. You are obviously a GREAT mom !!