I little crying never hurt.

I read this article on MSN today.  I usually don’t put a lot of faith in what MSN people write as most of the time it is outdated and just plain stupid, but this article I actually understood and agreed with.

In the article the woman was talking about having a good cry.  She talked about how she and her husband went to a therapist because it seemed they were fighting all the time.  The author went on to explain that the therapist told her to up her anti-depression meds…and that she felt that therapist was wrong in that suggestion. Don’t get me wrong, I am a big proponent of anti depression meds.  I was on them for a while quite a few years ago and they helped me tremendously.  However, what the author said in the article…about the therapist “medicating the feelings away”…I agreed with totally.

We are taught, as men and women, that we need to keep our emotions in check, that anything negative is wrong and needs to be done away with even if you need to take medication.  This seems to be the trend today.  You feel angry?  Take some meds.  Feel depressed and sad?  Take some meds.  No one seems to want to get to the bottom of things.

That isn’t to say that some people need meds.  My sister is bi-polar and is a much more pleasant person on her meds.  Off her meds she is totally out of control and blacks out to where she doesn’t even remember what happened…even if she assaulted someone.  She needs her meds so she can function like a somewhat normal person.  However, I do feel that many people unnecessarily or over medicated.  If a child acts up in school, no one bothers to get to the root of the problem, they just label him ADHD and put him on meds.  maybe that kid needed them.  Maybe he had other issues.  Maybe he was being abused..but from now on he will always be labeled as ADHD and that his emotions were wrong…even if they were justified for his circumstances.

Women are taught that we have to deal with whatever comes and keep our negative feelings to ourselves.  The first thing people say is “see a doctor and get on meds” if you are unhappy as a new mom when what we really need is someone to say, “Hey, why don’t you drop the kid(s) off at my house and take a day for yourself” or “hey, go take a nap, I can do your laundry”.  Yea, there are many women that needs meds for PPD…but I think there are just as many that just need a helping hand or someone they can talk to honestly without being judged. Men are taught that emotions are weak and shouldn’t show them.  They are also taught they shouldn’t seek help if they have emotional issues like Depression..that is a whole other post!

While I do feel that people need to seek help, I also feel that sometimes we just need a good cry, a chance to scream our frustrations at the world so we can move on without anyone judging us.  Life is hard.  Life is stressful.  Sometimes we just need to let it out.

2 Comments

Filed under Depression, Family, Health, Mental Illness

2 responses to “I little crying never hurt.

  1. I’m all for screaming therapy over meds… just ask the poor husband’s ears. 🙂

  2. I think that no one should ever be medicated for emotions, unless they have tried non-medicinal cures (like crying, talk therapy, etc) for it first, to no avail.

    I have nothing against medications, I just think we live in a society where there’s a pill for whatever ails you, and this is a very dangerous mindset. After all, we don’t even know for sure what the long-term consequences will be for most drugs on the market today.

    That worries me. It should worry all of us.