NaNoWriMo – Week 1

Here I sit on my couch with my laptop in front of me, Scrivener open, trying to eek out some more words. This is the end of the first full week of NaNoWriMo and I have managed just over 5,000 words. 5,000!! This is a big milestone for me since the previous years I only manged a few hundred in the whole month.

I have found that I am a nighttime writer. I can’t seem to write much during the day. Too much going on with kids and house and so on. I tend to write my best when dinner is over and we are just waiting until bed time. I also have a drawer next to my bed where I keep my laptop in case of any midnight inspiration.

While I am not confident that I will reach 50K by the end of the month (though I am hopeful that I can get a good creative spurt and write my ass off sometime between now and then) I am happy with the way things are going. I feel good about my story and feel good about my word count.

Stay tuned for week 2!

1 Comment

Filed under Fun, Inspiration, Life, NaNoWriMo, Reading, writing

One response to “NaNoWriMo – Week 1